Ovidia Yu

Ovidia Yu

Eight Plays

By Ovidia Yu

E-ISBN: 9789810735043

Genre: Plays and Poetry

Publisher: Epigram Books

Related series: Playwright Omnibus

Get the e-book directly on your reading app or device from the following available platforms:

Looking for print version?


Fall in love with Singapore’s most prominent feminist playwright. Ovidia Yu dissects all things female—from breasts to virginity, motherhood to lesbian love—and lays them bare in this omnibus collection of her finest works.

It contains award-winning works such as The Woman in a Tree on the Hillthe only Singapore play to win the Edinburgh Fringe First awardHitting (On Women), as well as the comedy Three Fat Virgins and sociopolitical drama Silence of the Kittens. This book is the third in our playwright omnibus series.


On The Woman in a Tree on the Hill
“This production’s strength is…in the details. Touching and very brilliant.”
—Jeremy Samuel, The Flying Inkpot

On Three Fat Virgins
“Ovidia Yu’s light and witty comedy is (juxtaposed with) dark undercurrents of frustration, claustrophobia and hopelessness…”
—Kenneth Kwok, The Flying Inkpot

On Hitting (On) Women
“…a well-crafted play that gives an intimate examination of the knotted, entangled lives of two women.”
The Business Times

More books by
Ovidia Yu

No books available.

Other books you may like
The Eye of History:
The Eye of History
A Colette Sequence & Other Poems:
A Colette Sequence & Other Poems
Uprising: Making the Invisible Visible
Uprising Making the Invisible Visible
A White Rose at Midnight:
A White Rose at Midnight
Me Migrant:
Me Migrant