Confrontation

Confrontation

By Mohamed Latiff Mohamed

E-ISBN: 9789810755584

Genre: Fiction Collections

Publisher: Epigram Books


Get the e-book directly on your reading app or device from the following available platforms:
Google
Kindle
Apple
Kobo
B&N
Scribd

Looking for print version?

ABOUT THE BOOK

Adi loves his life in the kampung: climbing the ancient banyan tree, watching ten-cent movies with his friends, fetching worms for the village bomoh. The residents of Kampung Pak Buyung may not have many material goods, but their simple lives are happy. However, looming on the horizon are political upheaval, race riots, gang wars and the Konfrontasi with Indonesia.

Mohamed Latiff Mohamed, three-time winner of the Singapore Literature Prize, brilliantly dramatises the period of uncertainty and change in the years leading up to Singapore’s merger with Malaya. Seen through the unique perspective of the young Malay boy Adi, this fundamental period in Singaporean history is brought to life with masterful empathy. In the tradition of Ben Okri’s The Famished Road and Anita Desai’s The Village By the Sea, Confrontation is an incredible evocation of village life and of the consequences that come from political alignment and re-alignment.

Translated for the first time into English from the Malay.


More books by
Mohamed Latiff Mohamed
The Widower:
The Widower

Other books you may like
Death by Perfume:
Death by Perfume
Durians Are Not the Only Fruit: Notes from the Tropics
Durians Are Not the Only Fruit Notes from the Tropics
Teaching Cats to Jump Hoops:
Teaching Cats to Jump Hoops
First Fires:
First Fires
Quantum Shorts: Collected Flash Fiction Inspired by Quantum Physics
Quantum Shorts Collected Flash Fiction Inspired by Quantum Physics
Big Mole :
Big Mole